Mini-review – La Traviata – English National Opera

by

I would have stayed home tonight because it was crappy outside (short rainy days, yuck, November is truly the cruellest month) and Lisa wasn’t well enough to go out with me as we’d planned (*sob*), and I just felt very down on myself and life all day, and I just wanted to say, “I give up, what’s the point of bothering. I should spend the night on the sofa staring at the ceiling.” This became a much more likely option when I found out the penalty fee for returning the tickets would only be $5 a ticket. Why bother making an effort when sweet oblivion awaited me?

But darn it, Lili actually really wanted to go, and after talking to her I felt that indulging in my down mood would really be letting her down, so I dragged my sorry ass out and watched La Traviata tonight. I’m sure it was better than staying home, but I am really hard-hearted toward 19th century opera, and I hate a lot of the plot elements (wimpy heroine, people giving up doing what they really want to because of social constraints) this opera was built on. Monteverdi is much more my speed. But really, spending the night sitting between Lili and J was a win, and neither of them thumped me when we were waiting eternally for the curtain to rise (and the music to start) for the final scene and I said in a stage whisper, “Isn’t she dead yet?”

FYI, we enjoyed The Cryptogram last night at the Donmar, though the child actor made Mamet’s lines grating to the ears.

(This review is for a performance that took place on November 16, 2006. It was migrated from another site.)

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

