Priscilla, Queen of the Desert – if only I could get some cheap seats!

by

It is frustrating to read a raving thumbs up like the West End Whingers’ review of Priscilla, Queen of the Desert and realize it may be months, even a year, before I get to see the show. A solid gold hit in London can be really hard to crack if you’re a tight-fisted theater lover. Ambassadors is showing many of the shows as just completely sold out, which is bad as it means the TKTS booth is right out. That said, I can find semi-cheap tickets at places like WhatsOnStage and LastMinute. But this doesn’t really help solve the ultimate problem, which is that the show is taking place at the Palace, the single worst-configured theater in London. When I went there to see Spamalot, in the only seats I could afford – £25 balcony seats – I discovered once I got there that I could only see about 2/3 of the stage. Furthermore, the balcony seats – which were three further floors above the stalls, not just one or two – appeared to be stuffed into a converted attic, with low ceilings, uneven floors, and bizarrely configured seats. What a difference from the Wyndham’s Theatre, where my upper balcony £10 seat had gorgeously unrestricted sightlines! I felt being sold this crap ticket (for Spamalot) at the price I’d expect to pay for a normal theater ticket without being warned of the restricted view constituted false representation. I mean, at the Royal Opera House, they SAY “60% restricted view” and price the ticket accordingly!

What this means for me is that, sold out or not, I’m not buying tickets. Pay £60-£90 or miss half the show? It seems like blackmail. Meanwhile Madame de Sade and Dido, Queen of Carthage are being skewered; thankfully, I’ve only got tickets for one of them (and they’re returnable). Perhaps I should be looking at The 1959 Broadway Songbook, available for £15, and the Stovepipe walkabout show the National’s running (at £20 a pop). In fact, I note Stovepipe takes place on Sundays; I’m going to book tickets.

(Note it says re: The 1959 Broadway Songbook: “For the Poser Tables and Bar Stools at a reduction price of £15 per person, please call the reservations line – 08456027017.”)

(LATER: Yay, got tickets for Monday, March 29th from Last Minute for 40 quid! That’s silly expensive for me but hopefully they won’t be wretched and I can catch the show while the buzz is still hot.)

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Priscilla, Queen of the Desert – if only I could get some cheap seats!”

  1. Andrew (a west end whinger) Says:

    The 1959 Broadway Songbook would mean also forking out for pizza or looking like a cheapskate. Another rock and a hard place to confound you.

  2. webcowgirl Says:

    That wouldn’t be TOO much of a problem except that I got food poisoning from the Pizza Express in Islington and have been chary of them since. Still … the pizzas are pretty cheap … and it was the salad that done me wrong …

  3. Review - Priscilla, Queen of the Desert: The Musical - Palace Theatre « Life in the Cheap Seats - Webcowgirl’s London theatre reviews Says:

    […] clap-trap I usually avoid like the plague; the second being that it was at The Palace, home of the worst seats I’ve ever experienced in London. But then I saw the West End Whingers’ drooling review. My God, I thought, I may be mistaken! […]

Leave a Reply

