London Christmas Theater schedule (my theater schedule for December 2009)

by

Well! I am a BIG fan of jumping fully into the festive season. Every year it’s my goal to see at least one Christmas Carol and one Nutcracker, and since I’ve moved to London I’ve added in an obligatory panto (at the Hackney Empire, as it’s the best I’ve seen yet). Christmas Carols are plentiful this year, my choice being Southwark Playhouse’s version, in part because of good feelings toward their productions (thanks to the Midsummer I saw there in February) but also because of the novelty of the walkabout format.

Nutcracker is proving a bit more difficult to crack, though. I really want to see either Royal Ballet of Birmingham or the Scottish Ballet’s version, but I am not able to get away to see them, so I’m throwing myself on the mercy of the Royal Ballet, with the caveat that it’s basically sold out for every day that I can go so I’m hoping for day seats. Next year maybe I’ll make it up to Glasgow or Birmingham, but this year it’s just fingers crossed I get to go at all.

With those caveats, here is my theatrical schedule for the month of December:
1 December Tuesday: attempt to get tickets for Cock (shall avoid innuendo with this one)
2 December Wednesday: Carlos Acosta at Sadler’s Wells (file under “gifts I’d like under my tree”)
5 December Saturday: possibly a trip to see A Muppet Christmas carol at the BFI
7 December Monday: Showstopper the Musical
9 December Wednesday: Rufus Wainwright’s “Not So Silent Night” at the Royal Albert Hall
11 December Friday: The Misanthrope at the Comedy Theatre
12 December Saturday: matinee of Christmas Carol at the Southwark Playhouse
13 December Sunday: Trio Medieval at Wigmore Hall
15 December Tuesday: the Pamela Anderson/Brian Blessed Aladdin at the New Wimbledon Theatre
16 December Wednesday: attempt to see Nutcracker at Royal Ballet
19 December Saturday: Academy of Ancient Music’s Messiah at the Barbican (can’t wait!)
22 December Tuesday: Aladdin at the Hackney Empire
23 December Wednesday: Sandi Toksvig’s Christmas Cracker at the Royal Festival Hall

And that’s it for the year! I’ll probably find another show or two I just have to see, though 😉

Leave a Reply

