£10 for Birmingham Royal Ballet’s “Sleeping Beauty” at the London Coliseum

by

Travelzoo brings a deal today for £10 for Birmingham Royal Ballet’s “Sleeping Beauty” at the London Coliseum: £10 for remaining Balcony seats (usual price £20-£25) for performances 20-24 April 2010, excluding the matinee on Saturday, 24 April. Book by 9 April. Full details here. (Quote “Ballet Offer” on the phone, use promotional code “pcdballet” on the Sadler’s Wells website.)

Tags: , ,

6 Responses to “£10 for Birmingham Royal Ballet’s “Sleeping Beauty” at the London Coliseum”

  1. Exit, Pursued by a Bear Says:

    I was going to be first in the queue for this, when I realised that I had already seen it! Unfortunately its a “bought-in” production which has been paid for jointly by several ballet companies around the world – I saw a performance by the Dutch National Ballet on DVD. There’s a lot of this about lately – several houses contributing funds towards a new production (which does make economic sense, I suppose) but what it DOES lead to eventually is a lack of choice for the audience, who run the risk of bumping into the same production if they don’t spec things out carefully in advance. Its the same with opera productions as well; its a shame as its leading to the death of exclusive, house-specific shows. What think people on this? Good or bad thing?

    • webcowgirl Says:

      I actually saw the recent Mozart opera at the ROH back in Seattle (of all places!) and decided to skip it because of that. What I think about it is that people don’t travel that much and that it’s a reasonable way to share costs.

  2. Exit, Pursued by a Bear Says:

    Granted, but both you and I have proved the essential folly of this practice. BRB have lost the cost of my ticket to see Sleeping Beauty because I caught it on DVD, and the ROH the cost of your ticket because you saw it in Seattle. People DO travel about – if youre a culture vulture you are highly likely to try and schedule a visit to the opera or ballet or theatre if you are going off on holiday somewhere – well, I always do.

    • webcowgirl Says:

      That said, in fact, I will often lean my trips towards shows entirely new, not just different productions. And the cost of say the 10 of us who’ve seen it before is nothing compared to shouldering the cost of a new production.

  3. Sugarplum Says:

    So, it’s a case of “been there, done that, not going to do it again”? BRB have some fine dancers, and I’ll happily go and see them in it, even though I’ve seen it before (about 2 decades ago, admittedly). I suspect the number of people who travel around the world sufficiently to be able to see the same production in two or more places is probably fairly limited, and the rest of us will scarcely know. After all, the Royal Ballet’s recent-ish production of Sylvia was, I think, a co-production with American Ballet Theatre. New productions of big works can be horrendously expensive, and I see no reason why you shouldn’t split the costs to ease the financial burden.

    webcowgirl, I really came on here to say thank you very much for flagging these offers. Since I lost my job in London I don’t get to see things like METRO anymore, so it’s great to have someone pulling these offers together for us, especially since I’m on a limited budget at the moment. Keep up the good work!

    • webcowgirl Says:

      For me, for ballets, I won’t go see the same production in a year, mostly due to finances. It’s a way I try to keep my theater budget in the realm of the affordable. I should probably see even less, though!

Leave a Reply

