A little variety: penne with lemon and walnuts

by

I know you were expecting another review but I’m going to take a break and share this awesome recipe I made tonight BECAUSE IT IS SO GOOD. I’ll try to get a review up later. But seriously, this is awesome. And it has a story.

While I was in the Palermo in April, I was washing my hands in the bathroom of the Monreale cathedral, and I happened to look at the paper towel I was wiping my hands on. In the haze of my lack of Italian, I noticed that the thing I was washing my hands on actually had a recipe on it, and as I crumpled the wet piece of paper up and tossed it in the garbage, it registered that it actually looked like it might have been something tasty. I walked out the door and had a think, then turned around and started burrowing through the pile of paper towels (all lovingly torn apart into individual squares, presumably to reduce waste) trying to find the recipe. I did (several sheets down), and it miraculously made it home with me without being thrown away again and has spent the last two months on my refrigerator door. Tonight I broke it in, and, as I hoped, it is a thing of genius, basically a pesto made with lemon. This version is for two.

Zest of one lemon
A fistful of parsley, chopped
4-5 tablespoons of walnuts, chopped
a quarter cup of grated parmesan
Chunky pasta for two
Salt, pepper, oil

Mix the top four ingredients together, add salt and pepper to taste, and enough oil to make it a bit more paste-like. Cook your pasta and give it a quick dressing of oil; then add the lemon/parsley mix and stir. INSTANT WOW. You’re welcome.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

