Review – Saucy Jack and the Space Vixens – Leicester Square Theater

by

One of the disadvantages of going to the theater as much as I do is occasionally getting on a run of bad shows that leave me feeling like I will never again have a really good night at the theater. That’s how I felt walking into the production of Saucy Jack and the Space Vixens at the Leicester Square Theater. I was horribly disappointed by the flat samey-samey-ness of the musical Titanic I’d seen three nights before, and truth be told, the last time I’d seen this musical performed, well, let’s say it was memorable and leave it at that. But I’d been invited by a friend and I found it impossible to say no; maybe the pleasure of hanging out with her would compensate for yet another painful night at the theater.

As it turns out, Saucy Jack was the most fun I’d had at a musical since Annie Get Your Gun at the Union Theater. In the basement bar, we had the advantage of a really intimate space (maybe 50 seats?), yet one they’d manage to trick out pretty well with lights. The show opened with a few of the lesser characters coming onto stage, wearing kind of tatty costumes and over-acting … oh, God, I thought, here we go again.

And then the Space Vixens arrived. Dressed in white and silver with the requisite shiny boots, they looked fantastic, with bubble “laser” guns and LED wrist bands adding to the effect. They launched into “Glitter Boots Saved My Life ” … and suddenly it all fell into place for me. I was no longer sitting in a muggy, tiny basement down a less frequented Leicester Square alleyway – I was on the Planet Frottage!

The three vixens had really good voices (even though the sound quality was varying immensely due to preview wobbles), and they had some whip-smart dance moves. In fact, the whole show had signs of being, not just deliberately, but competently choreographed. Furthermore, as performed by this cast, all of the horrible sexual puns/innuendo were actually making me (and my friends) laugh. As the tension and excitement built through the rest of the show, I found myself … well, singing along, bouncing in my seat, and finally joining the cast in the end of show boogie. Man, now THAT is how a musical is supposed to make you feel.

Anyway, it’s now two days later, and I’m still firmly earwormed with the soundtrack. I’m also planning on going back, maybe even twice, because that kind of up feeling is what I’m always hoping I’ll get from a musical. Only this time, I’m gonna wear my shiny boots and strap on my pocket laser, because I am ready to be a space vixen!

(This review is for a performance that took place on Friday, August 2nd, 2013. It is booking until September 15th.)

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Review – Saucy Jack and the Space Vixens – Leicester Square Theater”

  1. Mini-review – Saucy Jack and the Space Vixens – Two Box Productions at the Two Brewers, Clapham | Life in the Cheap Seats - Webcowgirl's London theatre reviews Says:

    […] brings us from 2008 to 2013, when I saw the Leicester Square Theater production of Saucy Jack and the Space Vixens. Suddenly, with the kind of high quality talent London seems to be dripping in, the campy fun of […]

Leave a Reply

