Mini-review – Groove on Down the Road – ZooNation at Southbank Center

by

You’d think after the horror that was the Wizard of Oz musical done at the Southbank center five years ago that I’d be completely against any further adaptations of one of my favorite movies; but drop the word “Zoonation” in the title and there I was trying to figure out how I could afford to go on my newly slimmer budget. Their Into the Hoods was fun and lively and the much longer Some Like It Hip Hop showed they were able to do a more character driven piece that was still hugely entertaining. So: give them a work I really love, and I had high hopes something good would come out of it – even though it was being done by the younger Zoonation performers.

Groove on Down the Road opens in a classroom, where our Dorothy – with long braids – is daydreaming, until her teacher tells her off for turning in a poem instead of her math homework. The teacher then takes on three other students, whom, as we can see from the supertitled animations at the back of the stage – are the basis from which the three companions are to come later (i.e. the blond guy “Leon” is clearly the lion, “T-man” … you get the idea). All four of them seem to be bullied outcasts. Somehow Dorothy is transported to another world, and her toy dog becomes a dancing man with a hat. The companions are assembled (each one getting a great solo dance in as their introduction), the munchkins are met (since there are a lot of kids this is pretty easy), then the journey to Oz begins. Each yellow brick road segment took the dancers out into the front row and aisles of Queen Elizabeth Hall (making me really sorry I had 10 quid back row seats), keeping the energy levels high and broadly distributed.

While the poppy scene was just so so, I loved the fight at the Wicked Witch of the West’s castle, where the flying monkeys got funky! And the bizarre dance sequence of “The Wizard” (being played court by a bunch of green and plaid clad school kids) was hysterically turned in the great unveiling scene, where we get to see a mini-me Wiz behind the curtain. I was howling, and by the end of the night standing up in my seat and clapping along as the kids all danced their way out of the auditorium. The whole thing was, what, 80 minutes straight through no interval? – and just great top to toe, with lots of music that mad _me_ want to dance. I felt so guilty knowing I’d gone to see this instead of Edward the Second next door at the National Theater, or, rather, I felt like I should … but I was just having too damned much fun to care. AWESOME!!!

(This review is for a performance that took place on Thursday, August 29th, 2013. It closes Sunday, September 1st. It is appropriate for all ages provided you like to get your funk on.)

Tags: , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Mini-review – Groove on Down the Road – ZooNation at Southbank Center”

  1. Denise Says:

    I dithered!! I was thinking of taking my 12 year old to see this, but was not sure whether she would think it was too young for her. And now that I am reading this, it’s sold out 😦

    Thanks for the review. I know I will have to make sure I get to the next ZooNation production.

    • webcowgirl Says:

      Really sorry you missed it! I thought it was age appropriate from 6 to 60 – not cutesy at all. I’m sure they’ll be doing it again, though.

  2. nikkimusingsandthoughts Says:

    DITTO loved all the past Zoonation’s productions and was not disappointed with “Groove on down…” shame it had such a short run – hopefully it will be back

    Lucky me and my friend got to move forward (also had £10 back row seats) and got to see the ‘groove down’ the yellow brick road close up 😉 dancers were amazing

Leave a Reply

