Preview – The Xmas Carol – Vulcanello Productions at The Old Red Lion

by

It’s that time of the year when I try to hit my three holiday touch points – one Nutcracker, one Messiah, and one Christmas Carol. Two years ago I went a bit overboard and saw three, and had this revelation: this story matters, not because times have changed since it was written, but because they haven’t. The rich still put themselves above the poor, and think they deserve what they get; in fact, the entire politics of the previous five years has been about putting the poor down for not having enough money, depicting them as scroungers. A Scrooge today wouldn’t just not give money to the poor, he’d help write a law that would take away Tiny Tim’s wheelchair … and his dad, if he were an immigrant. Maybe they could turn to reality TV to make up the difference in what they were legally denied … but chances are, they’d just never get it.

This, then, was my inspiration for writing The Xmas Carol, a modern-day political satire inspired by Dickens’ classic. I thought I’d seen it enough times to understand it, but now, wow, I can tell you I know it inside and out. And I still think it’s a story that matters – not just because of its great characters, but because of its great message, which isn’t about Christmas – it’s about the enduring value of caring for one another. I think it’s gone a bit out of style, but I’d like to change that, so I wrote a little play about it, and this Sunday and Monday it’s going to be happening at The Old Red Lion.

It would be nice to see you there. Won’t you join us?

(I apologize for not blogging much over the last few weeks, but, really, this show thing has been keeping me really busy. Don’t worry, I’ll try to make up for it in the next 10 days.)

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

